My switch to Sony

My switch to Sony camera system…

As many of you saw me with the Nikon D700 and lenses at functions I read and researched on many forums and also YouTube looking into a newer system that is either better or on par that I had.

A person that I followed is Jason Larnier who is using the Sony system, he been with Nikon too when I started to follow his work. The way he captured the moment was just incredible and I learnt a lot from him and the way he compose the model.

I saw he made the switch to Sony and I think it is just another camera or tool. I looked it from the distance and most of the time it was only on the Internet I saw the cameras. Then I visit a camera store where a friend is working and see the Sony A6000 that Jason shot a wedding with. Yes that tiny little camera but with quality prime lenses and still use the same technique than before. I thought by myself that I should get one of these little cameras and test it out.

I arrange with my friend from the shop to bring it one evening with him after work. It was just to see how I would cope with it and if I would like ot get the hang of it. Man it was a pleasure to use with the kit lens and still I asked how to adjust what setting for….Yes in the beginning there as lot of settings to go through to set it up. After the even I used it I made the choice to get one and saved money for it. Even I know it will be on par with the Nikon D700 at a fixed aperture at F/5.6.

In the mean time I bought the Minolta Beercan lens, the 70-210 F/4 lens, a Tamron 90mm F/2.5 macro and a mini Beercan lens, the 35-70 F/4 lens. It was still a way to go as I need to get the info what adapter to let it work on the Sony A6000. Jason said in his info the Sony LAEA4 adapter will be best to use to make use of the built in autofocus motor. So after another month of saving I found one on the Internet for cheap as it was body only…. End of the next month I got hold of the adapter and I was like boy with a new toy… or bag of sweets…I tested the camera in various ways, from fast focusing and some lowlight settings in high ISO’s.

I took it to a lowlight event and use it as backup where I think it will be best. Stunning results with the settings I applied. Then I been looking on the Internet for the big brother, Sony A7S, the lowlight king… Saw one for sale and contact the owner… With that I already add the Nikon D700 and 24-70 Nikon lens for sale on a website…not very long like three days I got a buyer…. I went after work one evening and sell it for the same amount I can buy the Sony A7S…I was even more in the clouds with the next purchase…

That same day I purchased the A7S I put it through it’s paces with extreme low light, pushing the ISO up to ISO 32 000! With the correct settings it was like very less noise at that rate…I realized I would take more shots I never could take before during the same light setup at the event.

There are only a small amount of things I would Sony to correct in a firmware update.

To save the settings on the memory card

To mark the image favourites

To change the file name when creating new folder

To have time lapse function be part of the setup and not to purchased

The people are complaining about battery life and I made sure I can get more shots than Sony claims with 350.

I also got myself the dummy battery, USB power booster from 5-9V and connect it to the any of my Sony cameras… 2×20 ampere power banks give me the power of roughly 50 batteries, that are more than enough for week’s photos or video taking…

Leave a Reply

