From Cropped sensor to Full Frame

From Cropped sensor to Full Frame

After about x amount of months using the Nikon D300s, I found an advert on www.gumtree.com a person who had a Nikon D700, full frame for sale or to swop. This was the same guy who my friend, Daniel Venter trade his Nikon D300s for a D700. I contact the guy and made an appointment to view the item. It was not in a good shape abut it was a D700 trade for D300s. When I got at his house, the 16gig CF Card I’m using was not accepted and he gave me a 2gig memory card.

On my way back on the train towards home, I realise that the back rubber is coming loose and was cut. I was bit disappointed and contact him later during the week. After a month I called him and asked if he has another D700 coming in. Answer was YES and I asked for digital images of the camera. The bottom of the camera next to the tripod screw, the rubber base had a small bit torn out. I emailed him and asked what caused that torn. He mentioned that he bought it from a guy who has an EBay shop. Was it a stolen camera? Most shops have the alarm attached to that part of the camera though…

Another trip to London was made. This time the camera was literally brand new,even at 534-shutter count! I decided to swop there and then and send the serial number to a friend who is working for Nikon. They done a “CRB” on the serial number and the results was that it belonged to Jessops in London and was a demo model. It is a “clean” late 2008 model and was lying for most of the time on the shelf or in the glass cabinet, locked away, hence the low shutter-count.

I was in the clouds with my Nikon D700 with one or two disappointments… The zoom lens I had was n DX lens for the cropped sensor of the D300s. I need to buy now FX lenses got rid of the zoom lens and it was back to basics with my only lens, the nifty fifty!

I went to Grays of Westminster where I bought the Nikon D300s and bought a 35-135mm f/3.5-4.5 lens that also has a Macro facility. The only challenge with that lens is that you cannot have your person or object closer than about 1,8meters or you should use the Macro function on 35mm only. It didn’t come with lens hood and I bought a 3rd party lens hood. Suddenly I was over the moon so I can use a dual-purpose lens, zoom and Macro all in one. Then disaster struck on images the well known vignetting with heavy dark edges on the corners. I couldn’t understand what happened. When I zoom out there was vignetting and when I zoom in to about 50mm, it was gone. I Google for answers and some claimed that it is not made for digital full frame cameras.

Then I visited Daniel Venter one evening and he mentioned that I never showed him my new 2nd lens I bought. I presented it to him and he added it onto his D700 and took a few shots. The lens hood was not attached and he took loads of images at different f-stops and zooming, no vignetting at all. When we attached the lens hood, the vignetting was back. We made the discovery that the lens is so sensitive on the side that you cannot even attach screw-on filters to the lens. The outer ring of the lens has a bayonet fitting for a lens hood and I wanted to have a lens hood for a complete setup.

I went to London one Saturday and it was my mission for the day to purchase a correct Nikon Lens hood for this lens. At Jacobs in New Oxford Street, the person behind the counter at the 2nd hand department, went on the Nikon site where you can browse for discontinued parts on order, he found the correct part number for the lens hood I’m after. I knew they won’t have it in stock and just walked down the road. Suddenly I saw this Nikon, Canon and vintage camera shop, Apertureuk.com, in the side street. I went in and present my precious lens to the guy and asked if he has a Nikon bayonet fitting. He paged through an old Nikon Manual and found the correct part number too I gave him. He searched through a series of drawers and then said sorry it must be ordered. As I wanted to leave, he said he misread the part number and looked again. Then he asked if £10 is too much to pay. I just replied, it is still a bargain for all the hard research and walking I done for the past few days.

Next up:  Back to the future: Nikon F4 S Film 

Message me

Leave a Reply

